Daniel Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D.

Gordon and Virginia MacDonald Distinguished Professor of Neurology, Psychiatry and Human Genetics, University of California, Los Angeles

SFARI Investigator, SPARK Scientific Advisory Board Website

Daniel Geschwind is the Gordon and Virginia MacDonald Distinguished Professor of Neurology, Psychiatry and Human Genetics at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Medicine and the Senior Associate Dean and Associate Vice Chancellor of Precision Medicine in the UCLA Health System and David Geffen School of Medicine. He obtained an A.B. in chemistry and psychology (modified) at Dartmouth College and his M.D.-Ph.D (neurobiology) at Yale School of Medicine (AOA) prior to completing his internship, residency (neurology) and postdoctoral fellowship at UCLA. He joined the faculty in 1997, founding the neurogenetics program within the department of neurology.

His laboratory has focused primarily on developing a mechanistic understanding of autism and neurodegenerative diseases. The laboratory combines genetic, genomic and bioinformatic approaches with basic neurobiological investigation in model systems and the human brain. These approaches rely heavily on computational and bioinformatic methods in addition to wet laboratory experimentation.

Geschwind has trained over 70 graduate students and postdoctoral research fellows. He is a strong advocate for data sharing, having developed several resources housing genetic and phenotypic data for a number of neurological and neurodevelopmental conditions, including the Autism Genetic Resource Exchange (AGRE) with the Cure Autism Now (CAN) foundation. He has served on several advisory boards, including the National Institutes of Health Council of Councils, the National Institute of Mental Health Council and the Allen Institute. He is also co-chair of the Genetics and Genomics section of the Faculty of 1000 and serves on the editorial boards of Cell, Neuron, Science and Current Opinion in Genetics & Development. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Physicians.

Read More

Funded Projects

SFARI Funded Publications

Integrating de novo and inherited variants in over 42,607 autism cases identifies mutations in new moderate risk genes. Zhou X., Feliciano P., Wang T., Astrovskaya I., Shu C., Hall J.B., Obiajulu J.U., Wright J., Murali S., Xu S.X., Brueggeman L., Thomas T.R., Marchenko O., Fleisch C., Barns S.D., Green Snyder L., Han B., Chang T.S., Turner T.N., Harvey W., Nishida A., O'Roak B., Geschwind D., the SPARK Consortium, Michaelson J., Volfovsky N., Eichler E., Shen Y., Chung W.
Subscribe to our newsletter and receive SFARI funding announcements and news