Two SFARI Investigators Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

national academy of medicine logo

This year’s new cohort of National Academy of Medicine members includes two investigators funded by the Simons Foundation Autism Research Initiative (SFARI). Election to the academy “recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.”

SFARI Investigator Mustafa Sahin of Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School joins former SFARI Investigator Guoping Feng of MIT in this year’s class of new academy members. Both scientists were acknowledged for their efforts in advancing the basic understanding of the neurobiology of autism and neurodevelopmental disorders, thereby contributing to the development of effective therapeutics.

The National Academy of Medicine, originally called the Institute of Medicine, was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Medicine works on critical issues in health, science, medicine and related policy, working closely alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering. Together, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine encourage education and research and recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge.

Earlier this year, SFARI Investigator Gord Fishell of Harvard University and former SFARI Investigator Moses Chao of New York University were elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Recent News