SFARI Investigators elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2019

Two current and former SFARI Investigators have been elected as new members of the National Academy of Sciences:

Kathryn Roeder, Ph.D.

Kathryn Roeder is the UPMC Professor of Statistics and Life
Sciences in the Departments of Statistics and Data Science and Vice Provost for Faculty at Carnegie Mellon University.

Roeder’s research is focused on statistical genetics and the genetic basis of complex disease. Her group has developed tools for identifying autism risk genes from de novo mutations as well as associated gene networks.


Bernardo Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.

Bernardo Sabatini is the Alice and Rodman W. Moorhead III Professor of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School.

Sabatini’s research is focused on understanding the development and regulation of synapses in the brain and the relationship of these processes to behavior and disease. His laboratory studies the developmental changes that occur after birth that make learning possible as well as the circuit changes that are triggered by the process of learning. They are also interested in understanding how perturbations of these processes contribute to human neurodevelopmental and neurological disorders, including autism spectrum disorders and Parkinson’s disease.


The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter in 1863. Scientists are elected to the academy by their peers in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. It is charged – together with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine – with providing science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

A total of 100 new members and 25 foreign associates were elected to the academy on April 30, 2019. The complete list is available here.

Recent News